England World Cup winners recognised in New Year's Honours

6:03 PM ET

ESPNcricinfo staff

England’s women cricketers have been recognised in the New Year’s Honours following their World Cup victory at Lord’s this summer.

Heather Knight, the captain, and Mark Robinson, the head coach, have both been awarded OBEs, while Tammy Beaumont, the player of the tournament and Anya Shrubsole, whose six-wicket haul sealed a pulsating final against India, have been awarded MBEs.

In addition, Clare Connor, the ECB’s Director of England Women’s Cricket, has been awarded a CBE in recognition of her role in the remarkable growth of women’s cricket in this country. The former England captain, who won the Ashes in 2005, has previously been awarded an MBE and an OBE.

“Our sincere congratulations to Heather, Tammy, Anya, Mark and Clare on their inclusion in today’s New Year’s Honours List,” said Colin Graves, the ECB chairman. “It’s fitting recognition for the way in which the team’s magnificent achievements this summer captured the imagination of the sporting public.

“Winning the World Cup in front of a capacity crowd at Lord’s was a truly game-changing moment not just for the team, but for the wider women’s game.

Clare Connor said: “I am immensely proud of our England players and staff for their incredible hard work, dedication and passion which came together this summer to create something very special.

“The memory of Anya Shrubsole claiming the final Indian wicket, arms out-stretched and screaming in celebration to the sky, will stay with us all for a long time. And for that moment to have been seen by a full Lord’s cricket ground and by a television audience of 180 million around the world is testament to the vast progress our sport has made.”

Let’s block ads! (Why?)

Read More…

Via:: Cricket – ESPN


You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *